Between The Lines
Between The Lines
🎙 Good to be bad
6
1×
0:00
-22:35

🎙 Good to be bad

Mastering the art of starting
6

This week, I sat down with Matteo (aka Dory) to discuss why starting something new is so incredibly hard (and how to get started anyway). You can listen to our first recording above!


Recently, I had lunch with a friend who started a brand-new job in a completely new industry.

"How’s it going?" I asked.

"Good," she said. "Though, there’s a LOT to learn. I’m excited for six months from now when I’m actually good at my job."

Interesting, I thought. I felt the same way when I was pushing my art in a new direction; I felt like a beginner again, and that was very unsettling.

Our conversation made me reflect on how uncomfortable it feels to not be good at something. All we want is to reach that beautiful end state where things feel effortless.

And yet, true growth is found in the challenges along the way.

My sister shared an insightful perspective with me. After years of wanting to play the guitar but never taking the first step, she reached a point of frustration. So, she said to herself, "This year, I am going to be bad at guitar." And every time she picked up her guitar and played poorly (almost giving up), she reminded herself, that’s the point!

So often, we don’t start something new because we fear we will be bad at it. We don’t journal, draw or skip because we don’t know how. But when we confine ourselves to what we know and excel at, there is little room for discovery.

What if the goal IS to be bad? To forget the outcome and find joy in the process?

For years, I have wanted to try podcasting. And for years, I have avoided it.

Well, this year, I’m going to be bad at podcasting.*

And Matteo is going to be bad at Italian.

What are you going to be bad at?

As always, I’d love to hear from you.

JYK x

*evidence above!


Things we mentioned in our chat above 🎙:

The scene of the crime 🎙

Discussion about this podcast

Between The Lines
Between The Lines
I’m an artist, committed to living a more intentional, slow, and creative life. Every Friday, I share what I’m learning along the way, in the hope it inspires you in some way.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed